Skip to content
MOTORRIFTTHE DRIVE, DECODED. SPECS. CONTEXT. CLARITY.
MODEL-YEAR VEHICLE FILE

2025 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado Buying Guide

2025 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado: Specifications, Versions and Buying Guide Scope: 2025 documented sale/production calendar year; check local registration/VIN for formal model-year designation. Documented version jurisdictions: AU. Figures apply only to explicitly identified grades and national test

Toyota2025AU
VEHICLE READOUTSMARKET-SPECIFIC DATA
Transmission8-speed automatic
Values belong to the named version and market; no independently tested performance is implied.
VEHICLE OVERVIEWMotorRift

2025 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado: Specifications, Versions and Buying Guide

Scope: 2025 documented sale/production calendar year; check local registration/VIN for formal model-year designation. Documented version jurisdictions: AU. Figures apply only to explicitly identified grades and national test conditions.

Model Identity and 2025 Market Context

Australia received the LandCruiser Prado 250 late in 2024 as a fresh generation for the 2025 buying market, rather than as a mild update of the old Prado 150. The squared-off styling is only the visible part of a deeper shift: the GA-F ladder frame aligns this smaller LandCruiser more closely with the 300 Series architecture. This profile deliberately covers the Australian Prado, not the U.S. Land Cruiser hybrid with a different powertrain.

Powertrains and Verifiable Technical Differences

Toyota pairs the 2.8-litre turbo-diesel with 48-volt V-Active assistance and an eight-speed automatic. The 150 kW and 500 Nm figures are engine figures, not an invented combined hybrid output. Full-time four-wheel drive, low-range gearing and a lockable centre differential shape its all-terrain use. The Altitude specification particularly matters because it adds rear-differential locking and stabiliser-disconnect capability; these are not features to assume on a GX.

Market and version Verified powertrain and drivetrain Source-backed details Testing method
AU — GX / GXL / VX / Kakadu 2.8L four-cylinder turbo-diesel with 48V V-Active assistance; 8-speed automatic; full-time 4WD engine output: 150 kW; engine torque: 500 Nm; braked towing rating: 3500 kg not specified
AU — Altitude 2.8L turbo-diesel V-Active; 8-speed automatic; full-time 4WD; rear differential lock and stabiliser disconnect engine output: 150 kW; engine torque: 500 Nm not specified

Who Should Consider It?

Prado makes sense for people who actually require a ladder-frame SUV, substantial braked towing capability and long-distance rural utility. Its five-grade ladder lets a buyer trade luxury equipment against more specialised off-road tools. Someone using mostly narrow city streets should consider the size, step-in height, parking conditions and likely tyre replacement cost before assuming this platform is the practical default for family driving.

Limitations and Ownership Trade-Offs

A 48-volt assist system should not be advertised as a plug-in hybrid or a substitute for a battery-electric city car. It neither supplies a published long electric-only driving range nor makes the diesel behave like Toyota’s U.S. i-FORCE MAX Land Cruiser hybrid. Verify seat count on the exact grade, and check whether fitted accessories or a loaded vehicle change towing payload margins. A nominal 3,500 kg rating is not permission to ignore gross combined mass.

Buying a 2025 Example in 2026

For a 2026 used Prado, request the Australian specification label, service history and evidence of any off-road use. Inspect underbody damage, recovery points, tow-electrics and suspension alterations professionally. Verify accessory legality and the actual trailer load before buying on headline towing figures. Compare the Toyota with an Isuzu MU-X or Ford Everest that matches local needs; neither rivals its architecture merely because the advertisements both say seven-seat SUV.

Sources and Further Reading