Skip to content
MOTORRIFTTHE DRIVE, DECODED. SPECS. CONTEXT. CLARITY.
MODEL-YEAR VEHICLE FILE

2025 Volvo EX90 Buying Guide

2025 Volvo EX90: Specifications, Versions and Buying Guide Scope: documented 2025 model-year naming. Documented version jurisdictions: US. Figures apply only to explicitly identified grades and national test conditions. Model Identity and 2025 Market Context The EX90 is Volvo’s first dedicated larg

Volvo2025US
VEHICLE READOUTSMARKET-SPECIFIC DATA
DrivetrainAWD
Engine111 kWh nominal battery-electric dual motor
Transmissionsingle-speed electric drive
Values belong to the named version and market; no independently tested performance is implied.
VEHICLE OVERVIEWMotorRift

2025 Volvo EX90: Specifications, Versions and Buying Guide

Scope: documented 2025 model-year naming. Documented version jurisdictions: US. Figures apply only to explicitly identified grades and national test conditions.

Model Identity and 2025 Market Context

The EX90 is Volvo’s first dedicated large electric SUV built around its newer electrical and computing architecture. Unlike a concept showcased for an uncertain future date, the model entered production in South Carolina in 2024 and appears in Volvo’s U.S. 2025 model-year lineup. It is a full-size family vehicle offered with six or seven seats; this article does not conflate it with a 2026 EX90 that may have different sensing hardware or charging specification.

Powertrains and Verifiable Technical Differences

Volvo lists a nominal 111 kWh high-voltage battery for both Twin Motor and Twin Motor Performance versions. The U.S. 2025 edition documents a 402 hp Twin Motor and a 510 hp Performance variant. These are manufacturer model-year values, not something to replace with the revised output of later vehicles. Published early-range estimates and final certified mileage should be treated differently, particularly with different wheel packages and the weight of a loaded three-row car.

Market and version Verified powertrain and drivetrain Source-backed details Testing method
US — Twin Motor Plus / Ultra 111 kWh nominal battery-electric dual motor; single-speed electric drive; AWD nominal battery: 111 kWh; combined output: 402 hp not specified
US — Twin Motor Performance Plus / Ultra 111 kWh nominal battery-electric dual motor; single-speed electric drive; AWD nominal battery: 111 kWh; combined output: 510 hp not specified

Who Should Consider It?

Large passenger accommodation, a modern cabin and integrated driver monitoring are central to the EX90 proposition. Some purchasers will find a home charger and generous parking space essential to enjoying it. The car’s software-defined feature set also changes the used-vehicle inspection process: verify installed software and working functionality, not merely the list of promised capabilities attached to the model’s original announcement.

Limitations and Ownership Trade-Offs

Do not assume all advertised sensors or advanced driver assistance capabilities have identical behaviour on every 2025 example. Hardware availability and post-delivery software rollout can alter the practical experience. Nor is a large battery proof that a car will cover a manufacturer estimate in every climate at motorway speeds. Buyers who need regular fast turnaround should check the actual local DC connector, charging curve and network access.

Buying a 2025 Example in 2026

For a used EX90, verify the official window sticker, seat arrangement, battery diagnostics, installed updates and any unresolved recall campaigns against VIN. Use a qualified EV service centre for high-voltage work; cosmetic inspection alone is insufficient. Consider the Kia EV9 or Mercedes-Benz EQS SUV when prioritising differing combinations of luggage space, charging, user interface and price. The brand’s safety reputation is not a substitute for model-specific evidence.

Sources and Further Reading